Fatcow Web Hosting Review


Fatcow is one of the top web hosting company in the world. They also run other hosting sites like ipage and vpslink. So you can judge their expertise in the web hosting industry. Definitely recommended, a thumbs up for them. No they are not a scam and no complaints I have for them.

Discount coupon codes also available. visit www.2host4u.com for discount link and coupon.

Be Sociable, Share!
  1. #1 by Jake on April 27, 2010 - 7:06 pm

    After I questioned FatCow about how much space is really provided to customers, I learned it is actually not unlimited. A stopping point will be reached if too much gets uploaded to a site. However, FatCow refused to tell this to me and simply stated space is unlimited. I located another company that hosts websites and who also said space is unlimited. When I asked for further details from them, I was shown each domain’s limits and the consequences of uploading too much data.

  2. #2 by Calie on April 27, 2010 - 7:07 pm

    When I call FatCow’s customer support, I always speak to someone from North America. Their customer agents are very knowledgeable and helpful when I have questions. This is quite different from the company I previously utilized. I would highly recommend FatCow to others.

  3. #3 by Ian on April 27, 2010 - 7:07 pm

    I spoke to a FatCow representative named Kyle, who was very polite and helpful. My interaction with him was quick, but I received the necessary information without confusion or long delays.

  4. #4 by Lacy on April 27, 2010 - 7:07 pm

    An employee of FatCow named Mr. Gilberto E. exhibited great patience to help me with my blogs. We worked together to solve my problem so my website could function appropriately. Slowly but surely I have begun to learn my way, thanks to the support team at FatCow.

  5. #5 by Mark on April 27, 2010 - 7:07 pm

    My recommendation is to avoid FatCow if you receive high volumes of email. Throughout the three months I used their service, they were not operative on several different occasions. I lost business as a result. Moreover, approximately 10 or 20% of the emails I sent were never delivered to their intended recipients, and I never received notification of this problem. FatCow admitted their server was to blame, but this was only after I spent hours on the phone talking to them. Not only did a fraction of my emails not reach their destinations, but I never had a way of knowing beforehand WHICH ones would not get delivered. That FatCow receives high commendation is truly shocking. Perhaps customers are not aware of the email delivery problem. My situation could not go unnoticed because I own a communications business. FatCow is awful, trust me. I transferred my service to InMotion, and I am pleased with them at-present.

  6. #6 by Graham on April 27, 2010 - 7:09 pm

    FatCow’s speed rates are slow, no video is allowed, space is actually 25GB, I see no use for akamai, sites go down without explanation, and MySQL is limited to transactions of only 75000 per hour.

  7. #7 by Victor on April 27, 2010 - 7:09 pm

    A feature of FatCow is their money-back guarantee. We attempted to get a refund from them, and we were charged service fees. It appears that if you terminate your FatCow service early, you will not get all of your money returned to you. We sought a refund because we were deceived concerning passwords. FatCow simply defaulted on its money-back guarantee.

  8. #8 by Zachary on April 27, 2010 - 7:09 pm

    Two of our websites currently run with FatCow. We are happy with our service and find the prices reasonable. The service team is friendly and responsive.

  9. #9 by Dave on April 27, 2010 - 7:10 pm

    FatCow’s service is OK. However, their customer service representatives are undeniably rude. Tim Roberts is a supervisor from Arizona’s call center, and he is a boorish know-it-all. FatCow’s product may be adequate, but support is really horrible. I will never call them again.

  10. #10 by Brian on April 27, 2010 - 7:10 pm

    FatCow provides free software for website development that prevents users from updating their websites. Clients who access your webpage will never see your content revisions unless they know to empty their cache. Including time-sensitive material, therefore, is a waste of effort. As FatCow’s technical team was not even aware of this, I discovered it on my own. Navigating FatCow’s website was not easy, and the help segment gave vague and short answers. When I called technical support, nobody could answer even my rudimentary questions. Wikipedia was more informative than the MooCrew. I demonstrated my displeasure with FatCow by telling the representative I spoke to that I would not endorse FatCow in any way. His reply was to the effect that they are number one. I did not understand this manager and asked to speak to someone else. His manager also offered no consolation, and I did not receive monetary compensation for my dysfunctional website.

  11. #11 by Brad on April 27, 2010 - 7:10 pm

    I am thrilled to be a new customer with FatCow. Their service is udderly marvelous.

  12. #12 by Joey on April 27, 2010 - 7:11 pm

    I work as a web designer and have utilized a lot of various web hosts throughout the years. None of them are perfect, but FatCow is superior to the others. They speak candidly with customers, and I actually talk to a person in North America when I call. I have canceled some accounts with FatCow upon realizing they weren’t necessary for my clients, and I have always received a refund without incident. I highly recommend FatCow to others.

  13. #13 by Josh on April 27, 2010 - 7:11 pm

    I am a customer with FatCow of approximately 3 months. I find that their customer support and various offers continue to improve as the company expands. I was previously a user of GoDaddy, but their control panel is difficult to work with and nearly impossible to find. GoDaddy also just tries to sell its customers on additional services. My needs for web hosting are now met by FatCow.

  14. #14 by Toby on April 27, 2010 - 7:11 pm

    FatCow advertises low prices and a money-back guarantee. However, you should expect to lose around 50% of any paid monies if you terminate your FatCow account.

  15. #15 by Lynn on April 27, 2010 - 7:56 pm

    FatCow is sluggish. I have no idea why I signed with a company whose logo is fat and big. I guess this is my mistake. Their customer service reps know nothing, my website crashed and my SQL database was deleted, and I have no means of backup. Then, when I signed with a replacement company, iPower, I discovered they are FatCow’s sister company. Both organizations share one customer support system.

  16. #16 by Surgio on April 27, 2010 - 7:56 pm

    I am one of FatCow’s new customers, and provision of my website since the beginning has been measured. My websites have been down since yesterday. When I called customer service, the person I spoke with provided no help. I was told the server ran out of space. This is hard to believe, as I occupy not 1 GB of space at this time. My complaints were marked “resolved” although this is not true. In my book, FatCow has earned an F for support and service. No one should use them.

  17. #17 by Oren on April 27, 2010 - 7:57 pm

    I have limited technical knowledge, but as a new customer at FatCow, I eventually established my website through trial and error. Technical support at FatCow has been wonderful. Trevor L. is a particular representative who surpassed my expectations. He ensured my questions were answered and talked to me with an easily understood manner. With a member like Trevor at Fatcow, I am pleased I selected them to manage my website.

  18. #18 by Ian on April 27, 2010 - 7:57 pm

    Linux is not even in the vocabulary of FatCow’s team.

  19. #19 by Bradley on April 27, 2010 - 7:57 pm

    I was weary after I registered with FatCow. It had been a while since my creative juices flowed. However, a customer service rep named Dayna provided great assistance and got me going down the path I needed. Now, there is no stopping me. I have to give a really FAT thanks to Dayna and her FatCow colleagues. I have all the confidence in the world that I made the right decision. I recommend bonuses of one-million dollars to FatCow team members this year. Corporate America did it, right?

  20. #20 by Darren on April 27, 2010 - 7:58 pm

    You will undoubtedly pay a fee if you terminate your service with FatCow. I helped a non-profit organization who needed a cost-effective website. FatCow had a demo template that seemed well-suited to the organization’s needs. This same template, which inspired us to register with FatCow to begin with, was actually available only to premium customers. We canceled our account and lost money. The template information was definitely not conveyed by the sales representatives at Fatcow. FatCow likely would have maintained our business if the technical support person had actually addressed our concerns and answered our request. That individual was simply difficult, although others were better. I warn people of FatCow; the company isn’t what it seems.

  21. #21 by Alphia on April 27, 2010 - 7:58 pm

    In my opinion, MooCrew is great. They have friendly and helpful customer service representatives who go out of their way to provide help. When I bought a new computer, I had trouble setting up Outlook. So, I contacted FatCow for support, and they led me through the directions for an hour, when my email operated without fail. I love them.

  22. #22 by John on April 27, 2010 - 7:59 pm

    As a new FatCow customer, I am completely satisfied. I registered for hosting packages and domains for my two businesses. I thank FatCow for demonstrating remarkable service and hope they continue to have success.

  23. #23 by Stewart on April 27, 2010 - 7:59 pm

    To date, I have resolved several various set-up questions with FatCow via live chat, email, and the telephone. I now have the ability to print payment receipts. FatCow offers multiple tools and levels of support to even the most clueless of computer users. I am very pleased with the first-rate service I have been given.

  24. #24 by Tate on April 27, 2010 - 7:59 pm

    FatCow is a dependable host who has friendly representatives in customer service. I should know, as I was completely ripped-off by Hosting Matters.

  25. #25 by Brent on April 27, 2010 - 8:00 pm

    I utilized FatCow for just one week. That is all the time it required for me to determine they have FP extension problems. It took multiple tries for me to even upload one time. After that, I received error messages regarding no extensions. FatCow attempted to fix this on many occasions without success. I was advised at one point to turn-off my anti-virus and firewall software while uploading. I canceled with FatCow and am now looking for another web host.

  26. #26 by Milroy on April 27, 2010 - 8:00 pm

    Six months ago, I signed with FatCow for service. I have to admit the experience has not been perfect, but adequate for the money I paid. I believe the FatCow support group is very responsive. My website seemed to run slow several weeks back, but MooCrew quickly corrected it. I have no regrets as of yet.

  27. #27 by Samson on April 27, 2010 - 8:00 pm

    My website pages download very slowly. FatCow’s customer support tells me this must be expected when sharing a host with others. Download times are as follows: 1.44 Mbps 14.85 seconds, 128 K 30.12 seconds T1, 56 K 67.98 seconds ISDN, 33.6K 104.37 seconds, 28.8K 119.53 seconds, 14.4K 225.66 seconds.

  28. #28 by Patrick on April 27, 2010 - 8:01 pm

    My charge with FatCow was actually 4 times the initial start-up cost. I enrolled via their website and instantly received a $42 charge. I could not proceed on the website without paying this fee. I opted to talk online with a sales representative and indicated I was charged without being established. This person told me I was not charged, although I could see online the very fees I was trying to explain. I was then instructed to send an email to the billing department and describe my predicament. Ultimately, for me, FatCow’s fee of $3.50 per month resulted in $86 worth of charges. FatCow will not be hosting my website after this ordeal.

  29. #29 by Evelyn on April 27, 2010 - 8:01 pm

    FatCow’s advertised cost is only for the first year. It is after you pay and review your account statement that they relate their fees actually double in the subsequent year. Moreover, after they charge your credit card for 11 consecutive months, they automatically apply the following year’s charges to your card. This means you will pay $44 in the first year of service, and then $88 in the second. Essentially, this is false advertising. FatCow does not promote such important information from the beginning of the client relationship like they should.

  30. #30 by Jareth on April 27, 2010 - 8:01 pm

    In reality, Etch & Sketch could provide better website hosting than FatCow. The upload times are ridiculous with FatCow, and their customer support is useless. Problems with the server are so prolific that FTP sessions cancel abruptly. Support technicians do not know how to update the web community and cannot address problems. They always say the server is acting “normal.” In order to avoid this frustration and to host with a company that can perform in exchange for your money, simply stay away from FatCow.

  31. #31 by Matthew on April 27, 2010 - 8:02 pm

    Phone calls to welcome customers onboard are actually performed at FatCow; I received one. I am unsure if they act on the remaining points of the Heifercratic Oath. I recently signed up with FatCow, and things have been good so far. I have smooth roaming, and the company is fun and easy to communicate with. FatCow offers what I need in order to operate my blog.

  32. #32 by Alan on April 27, 2010 - 8:02 pm

    My reaction is dismay to FatCow’s performance. I transferred service from GoDaddy, and their download times are multitudes faster. The front page takes longer than 15 seconds to download, and Joomla CMS blank installs are just slightly under that. I terminated my FatCow account prior to the end of my 30-day trial.

  33. #33 by Benjamin on April 27, 2010 - 8:02 pm

    I have been a customer with FatCow for more than one year. For me, their service is very satisfactory in many areas. FatCow has a relaxed and friendly attitude, but the company conducts itself in a professional manner. The MooCrew, which is FatCow’s name for its support group, is wonderful. They respond quickly and are helpful with questions. FatCow also contains the exact tools I need for running my photo gallery and blog. In the future, I may opt for an e-commerce website, and I am confident the tools for such are possessed by FatCow. New offers are always added to their customer packages as well. For example, Akamai was recently included, enabling Internet users around the world to quickly access my website.

  34. #34 by Craig on April 27, 2010 - 8:03 pm

    For seven years, we have been customers with FatCow. Service has become noticeably less stable within the past two years, as new features continue to be added. Yet again, our website and email are both not functioning, making for the third outage of only two months. FatCow just informed me with absolute certainty that no problem exists. This is the last straw, and I am committed to finding a different company. It is financially devastating for our website to crash repeatedly for extended periods of time. With a unit price that averages $150,000 within our business, I could be bankrupt at this rate. Service credits are not even available from FatCow to offset server problems.

  35. #35 by Arthur on April 27, 2010 - 8:03 pm

    I was a customer with Websitesource for approximately 7 years, and I finally cancelled my service last week. Justhost received my business for only 2 days. FatCow was recommended to me by other users, and I am pleased as of yet that I made the change. FatCow’s cost is reasonable for me, and the FTP interface allows me to communicate with clients with far greater ease than the log-in procedure used by Justhost. This is crucial to me, as I work in audio and video. Furthermore, FatCow’s technical support is not automated and actually responds quickly. Representatives are friendly in a manner reminiscent of years ago. These reps provide actual answers to questions, whereas Justhost gives vague and irrelevant answers and Websitesource blames problems either on hackers or users themselves. FatCow also exudes a laid-back attitude and genuinely wants to serve its customers. My site was working perfectly after only 3 hours of my enrolling with Fatcow. I am happy with them right now.

  36. #36 by Tommy on April 27, 2010 - 8:04 pm

    I think FatCow is wonderful, and I have had service with them for years. I use the company to host multiple websites and have never experienced major problems. I find them to be reliable.

  37. #37 by Carol on April 27, 2010 - 8:05 pm

    My switch from Earthlink to FatCow was surprisingly easy, thanks to FatCow’s crew. It is hard to believe I actually paid Earthlink $1000 per year for service far below FatCow’s. When I telephone FatCow, I actually get to speak to someone. I recommend Fatcow to everyone.

  38. #38 by Jimmy on April 27, 2010 - 8:05 pm

    I am a designer and operate a small website with FatCow. My joy is in customizing my pages with the control panel and resolving all of my questions without impacting my domain. The email is quick, and I receive answers to the clueless questions I pose to FatCow customer support. Any sites I need hosted for future client projects will be with FatCow.

  39. #39 by Kieth on April 27, 2010 - 8:24 pm

    While looking for a web host, customer reviews of FatCow helped me reach a decision. The company sounded decent, but once I started to build my website, everything grew increasingly sluggish. I spent more than 7 seconds simply loading an HTML website. Customer support told me the problem existed with my website, but I had only simple text that did not even function properly for 24 hours. I don’t know what is wrong, but I believe FatCow overloads each of its servers with too many domains. I was billed a $30 fee for early termination of my service, so I had to inform the billing department on two separate occasions that I had my website for less than one full day. I am now searching for a new web host.

  40. #40 by Kevin on April 27, 2010 - 8:25 pm

    One should consider before enrolling with FatCow. For six long months, I have used their service. They are often not online, backup does not exist, and an error on your website usually requires more than one day for repair. Do not make my mistake – stay away from FatCow.

  41. #41 by Powell on April 27, 2010 - 8:25 pm

    It is unusual for me to receive any customer service at all from FatCow. Today, I sat on hold on the telephone for ten minutes before I disconnected the call. The company is offline now for an indeterminate amount of time.

  42. #42 by Gilson on April 27, 2010 - 8:25 pm

    For 6 years, I have been a loyal customer to FatCow, and I recently discovered they reduced some of their fees. However, I was not notified of any price changes, so obviously existing customers were not told. In truth, FatCow’s technical assistance is great, whereas customer service should definitely be improved. I telephoned FatCow to discuss pricing information, and I was simply given an apology for any “inconvenience.” The representative said he couldn’t do anything to help me, so I informed him I was terminating my service, and I still did not get a response. FatCow’s cancellation policy does not let you off easy. I have used less than one month of service of my current year, which is paid in full, but my refund will be reduced by approximately half what I originally paid. With or without the money, I have chosen to utilize a different web host, who incidentally has received better customer reviews than FatCow. I advise future clients of FatCow to proceed with caution. This company should take better care of its customers in the wake of a poor economy.

  43. #43 by Ray on April 27, 2010 - 8:25 pm

    My enrollment with FatCow came after reviewing some fantastic user comments as well as a lengthy conversation with a FatCow representative. I believed the cost was practical (FatCow does require a subscription of one-year and charges $35 to those who cancel before this time). The theme “MooCrew” seemed friendly, and their service is backed by a money-back guarantee. I, however, was immediately alarmed on the first day of my service by FatCow’s ridiculously slow support. I waited nearly 30 minutes on the phone to speak to a representative, and I received no reply when I asked if these wait times are normal. Next, I reviewed the FatCow website and discovered that “Premium” customers pay $30 extra per month but receive preference when calling for support. I called the sales department to cancel my service and actually waited more than 20 minutes to simply ask my first question. At this time, it was a total of one hour that I had been on hold with FatCow. My money will be refunded in 7 to 10 days, whereas FatCow accepted my money in just 3 minutes.

  44. #44 by Phillip on April 27, 2010 - 8:26 pm

    FatCow offers fantastic service as a web host. When I call them, an actual person answers and provides thoughtful responses to my questions. I strongly recommend FatCow for anyone’s professional or personal web hosting needs.

  45. #45 by Kyle on April 28, 2010 - 1:12 pm

    Out of all of the hosting companies I have previously used, Fatcow is the best. The packages are easy to use and they come at a great price. Trust me I have used many small and large web hosting companies. Fatcow is number one for me.

  46. #46 by Clint on April 28, 2010 - 1:12 pm

    It wasn’t long after I began my business that I realized I was going to need a web-page and a company to host it. I checked out many sites for registration and hosting and became very confused. I then had a friend recommend Fatcow. It was eajavascript:jQuery(‘#commentform’).submit();sy for me to set up and it is 2 months later and I still don’t have any problems. They are there to help you with your problems and mistakes. I will definitely be a Fatcow customer for a long time to come.

  47. #47 by Wendy on April 28, 2010 - 1:13 pm

    Fatcow is not a confusing hosting option. There is one package that is cheap and reliable and easy to understand.

  48. #48 by Harmony on April 28, 2010 - 1:14 pm

    I own an e-commerce site and Fatcow had no problems with it at all. I can sell my products and I don’t have to lose a bunch of profit to pay for hosting.

  49. #49 by Andy on April 28, 2010 - 1:14 pm

    Their tech support is awful. I was having problems with the domain being down and I called and they couldn’t tell me anything at all. I canceled my account. I can’t make money with my business if their servers are going to be down.

  50. #50 by Mark on April 28, 2010 - 1:15 pm

    It has been three years and I am still with Fatcow. I love the fact that I can get help through chat or phone or email and they are always there. I don’t think I could find a better service!

(will not be published)